Neilston Low Station Sign

Accession number: 20168
Location: Small Objects Store
Date: 1953-66

Background Information

Early station signs were made either from wood or cast iron and were often locally produced, with each railway company having its own distinctive style.

Later, enamel signs predominated and after nationalisation in 1948 the Scottish region adopted blue as its regional colour and the iconic ‘double sausage’ totem signs like this one came into use.

Neilston station in the town of Neilston in East Renfrewshire originally opened in 1855 as part of the Glasgow, Barrhead and Neilston Direct Railway. It was renamed Neilston Low in 1953 but closed permanently in 1966.